Rubab's blog

The world of smartphones and PC from my angle

[Solved] Internet connected but no Web browsing

Recently, I happened to encounter a new problem with my Internet. It wasn’t that my DSL broadband connection had issues. The Internet was working smoothly directly with the LAN connection but there was no success through Wireless connection.

If there’s some defect with the wireless router, the Windows OS is intelligent enough to detect it and usually we see only Local access/no Internet access. But what to do when the Internet is connected but when you try to browse the Web, there is no Internet access. The most weird thing was that, Skype (pre-installed) was working flawlessly, also Google Search but no other website was loading.

I tried to use static IPs but it was all in vain. Then, I searched, searched and searched and finally figured out the culprit and the solution. It was my Wireless router that was not detecting the DNS automatically. I did different measures to get Internet fully working on my PC and mobile phones.

I. Solution – Internet on PC (Windows 7)

1. I opened the Network and Sharing Centre from the system tray.

2. Clicked on my hyperlinked Wireless Network Connection which opened a new window.

3. Opened the Properties at the bottom of that window.

4. Double clicked on the Internet Protocol Version 4 which opened another new window.

5. Opened the Advanced option.

6. Clicked on the DNS tab.

7. Clicked Add and wrote 192.168.0.1 on the DNS server and added it.

8. OK and closed every connection window.

9. Opened my Internet browser and Internet was working and all back to normal.

II. Solution – Internet on Mobile (Symbian^1^3, Android ICS, iOS 5)

On Android: I went to the Wifi Settings and chose the Static IP. Filled the fields as following:

IP address: 192.168.0.xx (instead of xx wrote different numbers on different mobile device).

Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1*

Network prefix length: 24

DNS 1: 192.168.0.1*

DNS 2: (kept it blank)

I saved these new Wifi Settings. I also had to disconnect and re-connect the Wifi to get Internet working.

On iOS: I went to the Wifi Settings and chose the Static IP. Filled the fields as following:

IP address: 192.168.0.xx (instead of xx wrote different number on different mobile device).

Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1*

Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0

DNS: 192.168.0.1*

 I saved these new Wifi Settings.

On Symbian: I opened Menu/Settings/Connectivity/Destinations/Internet. Then selected my wireless connection.

I opened the options and selected Edit. Again opened options and selected Advanced settings.

Opened IPv4 settings option and filled all the fields as following:

IP address: 192.168.0.xx (instead of xx wrote different number on different mobile device).

Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1*

Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0

Primary DNS: 192.168.0.1*

Secondary DNS: (kept it blank)

* use your own Default Gateway IP and DNS, although for most of the routers including mine, the default gateway and DNS is 192.168.0.1.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2012 by in Internet, PC and tagged , , , , , , , , .
