Rubab's blog

The world of smartphones and PC from my angle

When I wanted everything Portable

There are certain application softwares available for Windows OS such as Microsoft Office (2007 and 2010), Adobe Photoshop CS etc which have quite advanced features. These apps not only have quite a heavy cost but they are heavy on the system as well. Even though I have a 1.8 GHz Core2Duo processor, my laptop becomes sluggish due to the installation of such apps. Besides, you need a lot of empty space for both apps installation and a non-lagging computer.

In the last two years, I decided to use the portable version of the apps but there was a  problem of unavailability of such apps. We can find such portable apps on the internet but not every app works like the original fully installed one. It came to me that why don’t I make the portable editions of the apps myself. Upon search, I finally found ThinApp by VMware. This is the easiest app that makes portable apps by taking screenshots of the windows in which the installation is processing. Now, how cool is that!

I got so excited and crazy that i tried to make the portable edition of every other app that I could think of. After the developmental process, I tested these newly made apps on Windows XP SP3 and Windows 7 but before doing so I assured the absence of any previously installed files of the test apps in those systems.

Majority of the trials were a success while some of them weren’t because in order to work, certain apps require the presence of .dll files in the default installation directory. Also, the apps that worked weren’t that perfect and lacked in certain features.

95% successful trials:

VLC player 1.1.5

Adobe Photoshop CS5

Firefox 4 beta 9

Safari browser 5.33

ImgBurn 2.5

Office 2007

Adobe Reader 10

Songbird player 1.9

PhotoScape 1

Foxit Reader 4.3

Skype 5.1

Other apps

Unsuccessful attempts:

AVS Video Converter

CCleaner

Replay Media Catcher

Office 2010

Replay Music

Other apps

It all just ended up like an experiment when I got bored after playing with the apps. I never used any of them for daily purposes and neither got the chance to use them on any occasion since two years. They are quite large in size; they lack certain features; and they take ages to launch.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2012 by in PC and tagged , , .
